Main menu



Submission closes 31 May 2018
SUBMIT HERE and join the world - renowned speakers on stage:

The EOS biennial Meeting (EOSAM) will be held in Delft, Netherlands. The meeting will take place at the Delft University of Technology, in October 08
-12, 2018 where the latest results in optics and photonics research will be presented.The topical meetings include world-renowned invited speakers and by submitting you have a chance to be part of the conference program. Best student oral and poster presentations will be awarded by ZEISS with a diploma and honorarium of 500 EUR.


Submit to any of the Topical Meetings (TOMs):

TOM 1- Silicon Photonics and Guided-Wave Optics
TOM 2- Freeform Optics for Illumination, Augmented Reality and Virtual Reality
TOM 3- Optical System Design, Tolerancing, and Manufacturing
TOM 4- Bio-Medical Optics
TOM 5- Metamaterials, Plasmonics and Resonant Nanophotonics
TOM 6- Frontiers in Optical Metrology
TOM 7- Organic & Hybrid Semiconductor Materials and Devices
TOM 8- Adaptive Optics & Information driven optical systems
TOM 9- Optical tapered fibers for light manipulation on the nanoscale - NEW


Special workshops and sessions:

EU Project result dissemination Session
Grand Challenges of Photonics Session
Tutorials and Autumn Physics School

Plenary Speakers

  • Laurent Vivien, University Paris Sacle and CNRS France; Silicon nanophotonics  - the past, present and future (TOM 1)
  • Sven Kiontke, Asphericon, Germany; Industrial fabrication of aspheres: challenges and myths (TOM 3)
  • Benjamin Vakoc, Wellman Center for Photomedicine, Harvard Medical School, United States of America; High-Speed and Long-Range Circular Ranging OCT (TOM 4)
  • Jean-Jacques Greffet, Institut d'Optique, France (TOM 5)
  • Alain Diebold, SUNY Polytechnic Institute, Albany, United States of America; Application of Mueller Matrix Spectroscopic Ellipsometry to  Scatterometry based Measurement of Feature Shape and Dimension (TOM 6)
  • Jenny Nelson, Imperial College, United Kingdom (TOM 7)
  • Laura Waller, Berkeley University, United States (TOM 8)


Grand Challenges Session Speakers



Submit to:

Submission timeframe: 1 December 2017- 31 May 2018
Informing authors about acceptance: 29 June 2018

Submit to one of the topical meetinfs Register:
See registration fees online:



Fundamentals and Device Applications

Location: Anacapri, Island of Capri, Italy
Duration: 4 - 7 June 2018
Register as attendee


 List of Invited Speakers

  • Ad Lajendijk, University of Twente (Netherlands); Disordered media and photonic crystals
  • Mark Brongersma, Stanford University (USA); Aperiodic Plasmonic Structures for Spectral Splitting and Photodetection
  • Eric Akkermans, Technion Israel Institute of Technology (Israel); Topological properties of quasi-periodic tilings - From Structure to Spectrum
  • Felipe Pinheiro, Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro (Brazil); Applications of the Green’s matrix method: from random to aperiodic photonic media
  • Shanhui Fan, Stanford University (USA)
  • Jacopo Bertolotti, University of Exeter (UK)
  • Nader Engheta, University of Pennsylvania (USA); Aperiodic Metastructures for Analog Computing
  • Hui Cao, Yale University (USA); Transmission eigenchannels in disordered media
  • Nikolay Zheludev, University of Southampton (UK); Metamaterials, anapoles and flying donuts
  • Vladimir Shalaev, Purdue University (USA); Catching Light with Metamaterials
  • Alexandra Boltasseva, Purdue University (USA); Emerging materials and approaches for tailorable nanophotonic devices
  • Steven Johnson, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (USA)
  • Mikael C. Rechtsman, Pennsylvania State University (USA); Topological photonics: Weyl points and protected defect modes
  • Peter Schmelcher, University of Hamburg (Germany); Local Symmetries in Wave Mechanical Systems: From Fundamentals to First Applications
  • Carlo Forestiere, University of Naples Federico II (Italy); Spectral Analysis of the Electromagnetic Scattering from Complex Conducting Surfaces 
  • Fiorenzo Omenetto, Tufts University (USA)
  • Concita Sibilia, Universtiy La Sapienza, Rome (Italy); Effective chiral behavior on self-assembled metasurface by means of linear and nonlinear optical techniques
  • Walter Pfeiffer, University of Bielefeld (Germany); Anderson localization of light and perfect absorption in nanotextured absorber layers
  • Tsampikos Kottos, Wesleyan University (USA); Time-Reversal Symmetry and its Applications to Waveform Shaping and Photonic Limiters
  • Azriel Genack, Queens College, NYU (USA); Diffusion in Translucent Media
  • Sergey Skipetrov, CNRS Grenoble (France); Anderson localization of classical waves
  • Igor Tsukerman, Akron University (USA); Periodic and Non-periodic Structures: Homogenization, Trefftz Functions, Random Matrices 
  • Francesco Riboli, CNR and LENS (Italy); Correlations of the Local Density of States in Disordered Photonic Materials 
  • Jacob Khurgin, John Hopkins University  (USA); Benefits of disorder in in two-dimensional arrays of metal nanoparticles
  • Luca Sapienza, University of Southhampton (UK); Efficient confinement of visible light in disordered photonic crystals 
  • Gaetano Assanto, CNISM, National Institute for Nuclear Physics -INFN and Department of Engineering, University of Rome "Roma Tre"/Tampere University of Technology, Finland; Soliton photonics in nematic liquid crystals




This year (2018) is an election year for the EOS Board and there are four seats to be filled. We invite all EOS members to vote on the election. The election will be held during 15 June - 15 September, 2018.
Each EOS member is entitled to vote up to 4 candidates for the Board. We urge you to take advantage of this opportunity to vote for candidates for the Board during the summer. Each EOS member will receive a personalized email with a link to vote in June 2018.


Candidates for the EOS Board Election:

Mario Bertolotti (IT) *
Joakim Bood (SE) 
Manuel Filipe P. C. Martins Costa (PT) 
Jürgen Czarske (DE)  
Frederic Gardes (UK)  
Jan Massajada (PL)  
Gilles Pauliat (FR) 
Michael Pfeffer (DE)  
Marcel Poulain (FR)  
Matthieu Roussey (FI)


List of candidate names and profiles can also be found here:

Contact details:
EOS Office
+358 50 592 4693 ● Este endereço de email está protegido contra piratas. Necessita ativar o JavaScript para o visualizar.




Doctoral Summer School on Nanophotonics and Metamaterials 2018
Duration: 28 May 2018 - 1 June 2018
Location: Saint Petersburg, Russia

PCNSPA - Photonic Colloidal Nanostructures: Synthesis, Properties, and Applications
Duration: 4 June 2018 - 8 June 2018
Location: St Petersburg, Russia

13th AIVELA Intl Conference on Vibration Measurements by Laser and NONcontact Techniques & Short Course
Duration: 19 June 2018 - 22 June 2018
Location: Ancona, Italy

World Congress on Advanced Laser, Optics and Photonics
Duration: 20 June 2018 - 21 June 2018
Location: Paris, France

Duration: 26 July 2018 - 28 July 2018
Location: Porto, Portugal
Duration: 29 July 2018 - 2 August 2018
Location: Lausanne, Switzerland
Duration: 12 September 2018 - 14 September 2018
Location: Lund, Sweden
Duration: 17 September 2018 - 21 September 2018
Location: Sochi, The Russian Federtation
Duration: 28 November 2018 - 30 November 2018
Location: Hiroshima, Japan
Duration: 25 February 2019 - 27 February 2019
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Duration: 31 May 2019 - 4 June 2019
Location: Lisbon, Portugal


European Optical Society
Länsikatu 15
FI-80110 Joensuu

Mobile +358 50 592 4693
Fax +358 13 2637 111

Este endereço de email está protegido contra piratas. Necessita ativar o JavaScript para o visualizar.